Moh. R. Amer

(CEGN) Center Address:Samueli Department of Electrical and Computer EngineeringUniversity of California, Los Angeles420 Westwood Plaza, 5412 Boelter HallLos Angeles, CA 90095 -1594Phone: +1-310-794-9993email:  


Dr. Amer serves as the co-director of the Center of Excellence for Green Nanotechnologies (CEGN) at University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). He holds an associate professor appointment and senior member of the technical staff with KACST national labs, a senior associate researcher with USC and UCLA.. Dr. Amer obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Southern California in 2014. Prior to his appointments, Dr. Amer served as a research assistant in the Center of Energy Nanoscience (CEN) at University of Southern California, part of U.S. Energy Frontier Research Center. Apart from his research, Dr. Amer has a proven record in leading and executing project oriented objectives to achieve goals of strategic initiatives. In 2020, Dr. Amer participated in Science 20 (S20) summit, where he was part of the circular economy focus group that drafted S20 recommendations to G20 world leaders. In 2018 along with his collaborators, Dr. Amer demonstrated one of a kind non-invasive highly sensitive glucose biosensor which uses tears and sweat instead of blood. He also demonstrated a novel and highly sensitive COVID-19 biosensor for rapid detection using electronic ELISA. His current research focuses on electronic and photonic devices using low dimensional materials for different applications including biomedical diagnostics and treatment, semiconductor-based devices and sensors, and energy harvesting devices. Dr. Amer has authored and co-authored many scientific papers in prestigious journals. He has won many awards including Arab-American Frontiers fellowship, S20 circular economy delegate for Science 20 (S20) summit, and several honor and professional societies. He serves as a peer reviewer for a wide range of scientific journals.


           Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, University of Southern California, Los Angeles.                 2014

          B.S. Electrical Engineering (Cum Laude), University of Southern California, Los Angeles. 2009

Awards and Honors:

─   KACST President Leadership Program Award.                                                                                         2023 

─   Organizing committee member of future of semiconductors forum.                                                                                         2023 ─   Featured 2D photodetectors and solar cells, LEAP to innovate.                                                                                                   2023

─  Future of Semiconductor forum, best poster award.                                                                                                                      2022

 ─  Center of Excellence for Green Nanotechnologies award.                                                                               2022

─  Scientific delegate of Science 20 circular economy focus group.                                       2020

─  CEGN-UCLA COVID-19 response award.                                                                                2020

─  KACST research, science, and innovation program award.                                                                 2019

─  MIT (Ibn Khaldoun) Postdoctoral Fellowship committee member.                                       2019

─  Technical Leaders Program initiative award and associate director.                                                                    2018

─  Arab American Frontiers by U.S. National Academies of Sciences Fellowship award.                                 2016

─  Member (full) of Sigma Xi the Scientific Research Honor Society.                                                       2014

─  Ming Hsieh Institute (MHI) scholar award.                                                                             2013

─  Eta Kappa Nu-IEEE Electrical Engineering Honor Society.                                                            2009

─  Golden Key International Honor Society.                                                                                            2008